Update

So as all things were leaning towards graft vs host disease (GVHD) in my GI tract, things kind of took a hard left turn out of nowhere and they came in yesterday afternoon and announced they found I tested positive for Norovirus. After consulting with Dr. Armand and the rest of the Team, we will be shifting course if treatment away from anything to do with GVHD. We’ll stop steroids immediately and focus on reintroducing foods slowly to see if my GI can handle it. They pace is excruciatingly slow. Yesterday I was allowed a couple bowls of broth and jello cups. That was the only thing I’ve been allowed to eat or drink (other than sips of water to take pills) since Friday at 6pm. Today I hope they allow “solid liquids” which would include applesauce and milkshakes. I’ve lost another 8 pounds since Friday…. Not helpful.

The unfortunate part of having a virus in my immuno compromised condition is that my system just doesn’t have good defenses to fight things off so it festers and really causes major set backs like this. We thought we were so cautious at home but there is just no way in knowing where it came from.

Hopefully we can introduce a different food style each day without relapse with GI issues and once I can stay fed and hydrated while being off the IV tree and out of the bathroom they will allow me to come home. The soonest would be the weekend or into early next week. It’s unfortunate but the reality of life over the next 2 years after an allogrnic transplant may have several of these setbacks along our way and we’ll just adjust the best we can.

2 thoughts on “Update

  1. Caleb, Thank you so much for sending this update! It sounds as if you went “from worse to bad,” rather than the other way around. Thankful you got off the steroids; hopeful you’ll get to eat something thicker than broth, soon! You are an amazing human being! Awe-inspiring!
    We send you very much love, Bonnie and George

Leave a comment